When I first started carrying a pistol with me regularly, I was a bit of a newbie. I was afraid of the recoil, and I figured the smaller the caliber pistol I carried, the more appropriate for a girl like me. And then I spoke with our local Sheriff in Frederick County, Virginia. Bob Williamson informed me that for effective self-defense, one shouldn’t carry anything smaller than a 9mm. The Mauser HSc I carried at the time was kind of inadequate.

After that conversation, I got a Glock G23. I still have it. It’s a great pistol – .40 caliber, light, fun to shoot, and fit my hand perfectly. I know lots of people don’t like Glocks for various reasons, but they’re light, reliable and have little recoil. At that time, I didn’t think I was strong enough to carry a .45, but my friends kept talking about an M1911.

A few years back, I finally bought one, and I have never looked back. I love this pistol. The recoil doesn’t bother me. It’s reliable and classy, and if need be, it can put a large hole in an assailant, and frankly, that’s what I need.

This is what I told the folks at AmmoForSale.com when they wrote me a few months ago and asked for my input on which caliber I thought was the best. They planned to ask the same question of several bloggers and put up a comprehensive article comparing the 9mm, .40 S&W, and the .45 ACP. And that’s exactly what they did. Yours truly is quoted as well about why I prefer the .45 ACP.

“It makes a bigger hole. It has more stopping power. I don’t care if it exits the barrel slower. Most encounters take place at closer ranges anyway, and a few fractions of a second will not make a difference. However, having a huge chunk of my assailant removed by a .45 will make it more difficult for him to keep coming after me and will make it less necessary for me to hit my target several times,” Nicki, an Army veteran and writer at The Liberty Zone said.

It’s an interesting article, so you should go read the rest. And if you need ammo, you know which seller I recommend!